RSS Feed

At the risk of wearing out my welcome

[I’m heading home, opting to forego time at some friends’ house]

K-Dubs: You don’t have to stay long; just come for a little while.

me: I’m not very good at a little while.  We both know that if I go, I’ll end up staying for hours.

K-Dubs: You did a good job staying for just a little while yesterday [we’d spontaneously dropped in the same friends].

me: K, I was there two and a half hours.

K-Dubs: Oh.  Well. . .

Which got me started quoting I’m long on staying; I’m slow to leave (from an album that could be my past 12 months set to music.)

It’s really lucky for people that school is awfully busy right now, or I’d never be able to resist the draw of another cup of tea, another quiet conversation or more companionable silence, that afternoon walk, lingering over lunch.  I feel like I truly would take every moment and every minute.   Come summer. . . well, you’ve been warned.

About secondinaseriesofsix

My job and my family keep me inspired and laughing by turns. Here's a taste.

Leave a Reply

