RSS Feed

Defiance

The way I respond to the “givens” in my daily experiences determines my growth in holiness.  When we pray, “Give us this day our daily bread,” God answers that prayer, measuring out just what we need for spiritual as well as physical growth.  He knows that spiritual stamina cannot develop without conflict.  We must take with both hands the thing given, submissively, humbly, sometimes courageously, or even, as one friend put it “defiantly”- saying to ourselves, This is part of the story, the story of the love of God for me and of my love for Him. (Elisabeth Elliot, Path of Loneliness, pp. 136-137)

About secondinaseriesofsix

My job and my family keep me inspired and laughing by turns. Here's a taste.

Leave a Reply

