RSS Feed

Passing along a gift

I love senior citizens.  I like watching my elderly neighbor move around his yard with the aid of his walker so he can attend to each plant.  I love seeing older couples hold hands- the very best of PDA.  And I enjoy sitting near groups of sage men and women and listening to their conversations.  But I especially love older people who have long paths of discipleship in their rearview mirrors.  There is something very dear about the assurances and stories of seasoned saints.  So when a friend mailed me a copy of Elisabeth Elliot’s book the Path of Loneliness, I was delighted to find that each chapter read like a conversation with an older woman, one we might have over tea.  Not dramatic or flashy, but full of years’ lessons and examples, it nourished my soul.  I loaned it out as soon as I finished it, eager to share what had been helpful to me.  Now that it’s returned, here are a few favorite passages:

The coming of this transcendent authority in one’s life is bound to be an active thing, an immense disruption at times.

We have innumerable promises that the seen is not the whole story.

Yet I find that events do not change souls.  It is our response to them which finally affects us.

There we have the “terms”: grace- first, last, and always.

About secondinaseriesofsix

My job and my family keep me inspired and laughing by turns. Here's a taste.

Leave a Reply

