RSS Feed

Five Fresh Songs

Christmas songs and carols start in my household as soon as Thanksgiving dinner dishes are done. A frequent Thanksgiving guest arbitrated a family disagreement this year by assuring us that in past years, we have been allowed carols during Thanksgiving dessert. Yours truly thought we should wait for pie dishes to be finished. No matter; I love the seasonal anthems. But after hearing the same songs in stores, at coffee shops, over the radio, and sung around the piano, I can grow a little sated. If you find yourself growing grinchy from lack of variety in your Christmas playlist, here are a few of my favorite not-so-common carols (all of which are easier to sing along with than O Holy Night):

For theology:
Tomorrow Shall Be My Dancing Day (It’s worth getting a version with all the verses to complete the story.)
Thou Who Wast Rich Beyond All Splendor (There’s an updated version with altered words that is still pretty good.)

For nostalgia:
Peace on Earth (Yes, this is the carol in Lady and the Tramp, recorded by the timeless Dean Martin.)

Just because they sound different:
In the Bleak Midwinter (James Taylor does a lovely version)
Sweet Little Jesus Boy (Though I’m not normally into country music, Trisha Yearwood’s cover of this makes me happy.)

About secondinaseriesofsix

My job and my family keep me inspired and laughing by turns. Here's a taste.

Leave a Reply

