RSS Feed

Hot Spiced Tea

This is my adaptation of my MorMor’s recipe.  Anecdotal evidence suggests that it cures sore throats.  (Surprise: I don’t measure these ingredients!)

Boil 2 qts water with 1 T whole cloves and a couple of sticks of cinnamon for 5 minutes.  Remove from heat and steep 3 tea bags or one family-size tea bag for 10 minutes.  Pour this mixture through a sieve and into the slow-cooker in which you’ve mixed

2-3 cups orange juice

2-3 c water

1/4-3/4 c lemon juice (it’s acceptable but not as good without or with lime instead)

sugar to taste (1 cup is a good starting place.  If I have a really sore throat, I leave out the sugar entirely and add honey to each cup as I dish it up.)

Heat in a slow cooker and enjoy throughout the day.  (After 9 or so hours, the sugar will begin to burn, so you’ll need to pour it into a Pyrex and refrigerate it to warm one cup at a time.  If it lasts that long.)

About secondinaseriesofsix

My job and my family keep me inspired and laughing by turns. Here's a taste.

Leave a Reply

