RSS Feed

Cooking with Children, Vol. 3: Don’t do much

Near the end of Monday’s class, one of my students remarked that I hadn’t done much.  This is true.  I discuss things with my students, talk them through the recipe, and usually demonstrate each step, then I hand over the reins and let the students do the actual work.  They’re slow and clumsy with tools and techniques that are new, and sometimes I have to restrain myself from taking over.  But I think the FoodTV viewers:take-out orders ratio in America proves that watching someone make food and feeling confident enough to actually make it are not the same experience.  So, if you’re teaching a child to cook, let the child do at least some of every step.

About secondinaseriesofsix

My job and my family keep me inspired and laughing by turns. Here's a taste.

Leave a Reply

