RSS Feed

Homemade pizza: three tricks

Homemade pizza sounds like it should be an improvement over store-bought, but the results don’t always turn out that well.  I have several recipes I like, from thick, rosemary-scented “Pizza Bianca” to the wafer-thin-crusted bacon and caramelized onion pizza I made last night.  No matter what kind of pizza I make, I try to remember these three lessons I learned the hard way:

1) Pre-bake the crust in a very hot oven; this is the first defense against a heavy, sodden crust.

2) Pre-cook toppings.  Zap pepperoni and ham to keep them from being flabby and to avoid pools of grease on the finished product.  Cook veggies in a pan or the microwave to avoid watery pizza or unevenly cooked toppings.

3) Sauce should be thick.

About secondinaseriesofsix

My job and my family keep me inspired and laughing by turns. Here's a taste.

Leave a Reply

