RSS Feed

Teaching messes with your head

Exhibit 1: I find myself mentally tacking “ly” onto people’s adjectives when they ought to be using adverbs.  “No one was taking it serious.”  [Here’s where my mind says,”ly.”]  How obnoxious is that?  Fortunately, I haven’t said it aloud.  Yet.

Exhibit 2: I use plural pronouns when directing only one person.  I guess this has its place- offering a gentle reminder that doesn’t seem too pointed.  Instead of saying, “C., be quieter!”  I can sort of generally announce, “Let’s remember to use our soft voices indoors,” and spare C. some embarrassment.  It also softens commands and makes me sound like I’m on the child’s team; “M., let’s get back to work,” is really just a nice way of saying, “Get back to work, you!”  But the other day I heard myself say, “Let’s not pick your nose, E.”  Yuck.

About secondinaseriesofsix

My job and my family keep me inspired and laughing by turns. Here's a taste.

Leave a Reply

