RSS Feed

Labor parties- because they are good for friendship

Labor parties are good for friendships because they give us new contexts for relationships.  We can see our friends in new situations and appreciate them in new ways.  I know I love my friends’ creativity, tenacity, and good-humor more because I’ve seen those strengths as we work together.

When we work together, we have more time for people.  When I’m feeling low on time, I try to remember to invite people to work with me.  Two very busy friends who are teachers get together and work side-by-side on their lesson plans.  That time slot wouldn’t be open for people unless they were willing to have a labor party.

Labor parties create interdependence that is good for us.  We love people more when we’ve done something for them or had them do something for us.  Plus, working together reminds us that we need to support one another.

The shared satisfaction at the end of a job well-done bonds the workers together.  That’s a great way to enhance a friendship!

As someone who isn’t always a talker, I appreciate that labor parties provide permission to stay close without chatting the whole time.  Labor parties relieve social pressure.

About secondinaseriesofsix

My job and my family keep me inspired and laughing by turns. Here's a taste.

Leave a Reply

