RSS Feed

2009

-On separate trips, I traveled to Charleston, SC and Virginia/Maryland.  So began a love for Charleston and continued my love for Virginia.

-My family experienced a Rook resurgence.  So began many a fight.

-I discovered new authors: Wendell Berry, Marilynne Robinson, Annie Dillard, E.F. Benson, Edith Wharton.  So began years of fun reading, I hope.

-In February, my mom mentioned a traveling OT who had visited her church.  I thought that sounded lonely and asked for the young woman’s phone number to invite her kayaking.  She agreed, even though she’d never met me or been in a kayak.  So began a beautiful friendship.

-My closest friend from childhood had a baby in February.  So began a wonderful new chapter.

-Thanks to the traveling OT (see above), I ate sushi after saying I wouldn’t.  I also ate Pho.  So began a new love for ethnic food.

-I reached some sort of critical mass of teaching grammar. So began my inwardly wincing whenever a preposition dangles at the end of a sentence.

-I started teaching Singapore math.  So began a new enjoyment of math.

-I paddleboarded for the first time and loved it.  So began nothing so far, but I’d love to do it again.

-My fairy godmother suggested that I teach cooking classes at her house.  So began a very satisfying summer, and a love of helping young people cook.

Good-bye, 2009.  You were full of good beginnings!

About secondinaseriesofsix

My job and my family keep me inspired and laughing by turns. Here's a taste.

Leave a Reply

