RSS Feed

Uh, yeah, what he said. . .

One of the reasons I tend to stick to family events and anecdotes when I blog is that in all the significant areas of human thought and experience, someone smarter and more articulate than I am has already said what needs to be said.  For instance, I took 409 words to say what John Newton wrote better, earlier:

For those who confess themselves to be ‘sinners’, and therefore deserving of nothing but misery and wrath–to be proud of those peculiar blessings which are derived from the gospel of God’s grace–is a wickedness of which even the demons are not capable of!

Or, I could just have quoted John Owen:

“The spiritual life which I have is not my own. I did not induce it, and I cannot maintain it. It is only and solely the work of Christ.”

About secondinaseriesofsix

My job and my family keep me inspired and laughing by turns. Here's a taste.

Leave a Reply

