RSS Feed

Be (Very, Very) Prepared

I used to work as an event planner.  Most of the events I helped people with were happy ones- graduations, weddings, birthday parties- but funerals and wakes were also part of the job.  I actually felt most useful on those events, because most people need more guidance and care when they’re going through grief.  One particular Monday, I fielded a call from a woman who needed help with a funeral.  I used my most supportive voice: “When is the funeral going to be?”

“Well, we don’t know yet.  I guess probably Friday, but we’ll see how he does this week.  He’s not actually dead yet.”

About secondinaseriesofsix

My job and my family keep me inspired and laughing by turns. Here's a taste.

Leave a Reply

