RSS Feed

Putting the rich in enrichment

Despite the fact that scheduling forces me to be a basics kind of teacher, I really love doing enrichment activities, especially historical activities or ones that require using the kitchen.  This week’s lesson on Tibet presented a good opportunity to reinforce our learning with a little culinary adventure: Hot Buttered Tea.  It required shaking a canning jar to get the butter (it ought to have been yak butter, but that’s a little hard to come by here) in the hot tea, and this was a favorite task for my students.  It is as rich as it sounds (I actually cut back on the butter which is supposed to be a stick per 3 c of strong tea- yikes!), but it was surprisingly good.  All the students gave it a fair try, and the ones who are used to tea loved it.  I hadn’t expected such a warm response, and I had to make an additional batch, which we drank while we sat around the table and talked adjectives and adverbs. It was terribly cozy, but it turned out to be less than strategic on my part.  Every few minutes for the rest of the day, I had a desperate child whispering, “Miss C., I have to use the bathroom, and I really can’t wait!”

About secondinaseriesofsix

My job and my family keep me inspired and laughing by turns. Here's a taste.

Leave a Reply

