RSS Feed

Hatchlings

My students are hatching chickens. They are delighted with their baby chickens, and some even had names picked out for them before they were hatched. “Then will come Emily, and Stephanie, and. . .”

I asked, “How do you know they’ll all be girls?”

“Oh, I’m just going to fake that they are.” It’s a good thing they won’t get to keep these chickens too long. The possibilities for gender confusion. . .

Today, we tried to simulate the hatching experience by taking paper clip ends to raw eggs.

“We’re going to be pipping eggs,” I announced, only to be reminded by an accurate student that all pipping technically happens inside eggs, so there’s no way that we could pip.

“Unless,” the student added, “we transmogrify into chicks inside of eggs.”

Next week’s experiment won’t require any transmogrification. That’s a little outside of my expertise.

About secondinaseriesofsix

My job and my family keep me inspired and laughing by turns. Here's a taste.

Leave a Reply

