RSS Feed

Well, I’m just not that into me, either

I had to vacate my home for a few hours on Valentine’s Day to make way for a bunch of junior high students.  Where to go on a cold night when every couple is on a date?  The un-romantic comedy He’s Just Not That Into You seemed like my best bet for a not-too-crowded escape.  (It was surprisingly crowded, and surprising full of men who came of their own accord.)  I went in expecting a “cotton candy” movie, and the film-makers certainly did a lot to cheese this thing up and trash it out.  Ultimately though, it was the most depressing film I’ve seen in a long time.  The embarrassment, disappointment, and manipulation rang true; the few happy endings didn’t.  Jennifer Connolly stole the show and made me cry.

My sister and I both did that whole face-fanning thing for a good bit of our drive home (Why do we do that?  Do we think we’re speeding the evaporation of our tears?), but she tuned the radio to a cliche-ridden and amusing radio proposal, and we ended the evening doubled over in laughter.  While I wouldn’t endorse the movie (too unnecessarily skanky), I would recommend that if you see it, you have something fun planned for afterward.  For cotton candy, it’s bitter.

About secondinaseriesofsix

My job and my family keep me inspired and laughing by turns. Here's a taste.

Leave a Reply

