RSS Feed

Roasted Peppers made easy

Years ago, I wanted to try a recipe that called for roasted red peppers, served on a bed of arugula. It’s a good combination, or at least, it would have been, if I could have successfully roasted the peppers. Most recipes call for holding them over open flame. I found that this produced spotty results, only charring some of the pepper (which meant the other parts tasted fresh and clung to their skins). Frustrated cook, lackluster salad.  I wasn’t eager to try again, but then I discovered a suggestion for oven roasted peppers. Success. They skinned easily and were soft and incredibly flavorful.  It was simple and worked beautifully, and ever since, I roast peppers often. Here’s what I do:
Preheat an oven to 475. Wash bell peppers and put them in a baking pan. Place this pan as close to the top of the oven as possible. Check the peppers every 15 minutes or so. when the tops are well-charred, turn them with tongs. Repeat until the peppers are charred in most spots. The skin will get puffy and you might hear hissing from the oven (which is a lot less scary than doing all this over open flame). When they’re finished, put them in a large bowl and cover with plastic wrap. Let them sit for 10(ish) minutes, and then peel their skins off and remove their stems. You can refrigerate them for a few days before you use them.
And what can you use them for? (Forgive the dangling preposition.) Well, you could serve them as a salad with arugula (topped with a balsamic vinaigrette). They make a flavorful sandwich filling along with some Parmesan shavings. You can stick them in a lasagne to add nutrition and taste.  My favorite way to use them is in soup- I puree them with broth, and if I’m feeling ambitious I add sauteed onions and garlic or even a can of tomatoes (all before pureeing). Tempered with a little half-and-half or milk before serving, it makes a healthy and memorable dinner. Because the peppers can be roasted the evening before, I fall back on this “recipe” on busy weeknights. I roasted peppers tonight (thus the post), and I am hoping to use them to make a sauce that will top some pasta and snapper. I’ll report.

About secondinaseriesofsix

My job and my family keep me inspired and laughing by turns. Here's a taste.

2 responses »

  1. Don’t just report! Share!

    Reply
  2. secondinaseriesofsix

    If you’d only live closer, I would run over a dairy-free pot of sauce pronto. But I’ll report, and that may make you happy that I didn’t share: I added red pepper flakes to liven the sauce up. We enjoyed the it a lot (a good foil for fish), but our evening was summed up by my mom smashing pea pods against her lips to try to cool them off.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

