RSS Feed

The Gospel is like New Year’s Day every day (only better)

I always enjoy the start of a new year. It’s a time to reflect and take stock of my life, but most importantly, it’s a fresh start.

This year, more than others, I’m aware that I need a new start, but not just every 365/366 days. Sin is more pervasive and more subtle than I’ve ever appreciated.  I’m more disturbed by it, more disgusted at it.  My orientation away from God makes everything in my life twisted.  I need forgiveness and hope that I can change- or rather, that I can be changed- throughout the day. I still like a good New Year’s celebration (leftover Christmas goodies and sparkling cider anyone?), but I’m beginning to value that grace means I have a clean slate with God this second, that I have power to change right now.

About secondinaseriesofsix

My job and my family keep me inspired and laughing by turns. Here's a taste.

2 responses »

  1. I like to have little conversations with God throughout the day. Reflect on His endless love and mercy.

    peace

    Reply
  2. I’m reminded of this verse: “If anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation – the old is gone, the new has come” – 2 Cor 5:17

    What an amazing truth of renewal and revival, and we can proclaim it every single day. Freedom in Christ!

    Thanks for your words.

    -Sol
    http://www.calebandsol.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

