RSS Feed

A Blogging Bill of Rights

Gentle Reader (by which I mean Colin and perhaps another soul or two who chanced upon this site),

You have the right to remain silent.  If you want to read and not comment, that’s fine.  You also have the right to break silence any time you want.  Don’t apologize.

You have the right to stop reading.  If I wasted my time writing something boring, don’t waste your time reading it.

You have the right to feign ignorance about anything you read on this blog, or tell me that you read it.  I don’t think there’s any protocol for the odd situations created by mass knowledge via blogs and social networking sites, so I’m creating my own.  If I mention that I’ve been reading a particular book, you can tell me you read about it on my blog, or play dumb and let me tell you.  Your pick.

I reserve the right to take breaks from blogging without feeling guilty.  I reserve the right to be wrong, in process, incomplete, in what I say.  I reserve the right to change.  I reserve the right to be boring (see above- you don’t have to read it, so don’t complain if you’re not interested in what I say).  I reserve the right to overuse semi-colons, and to use stiff-sounding grammar.  I reserve the right to know who’s speaking, so I don’t allow anonymous comments.  I reserve the right to recommend things that won’t be acceptable for everyone, to link to sites that have content that isn’t uniformly as excellent as the piece of it I cite.

Enjoy reading!

About secondinaseriesofsix

My job and my family keep me inspired and laughing by turns. Here's a taste.

Leave a Reply

